Hindi font on Mac

A few months back I bought myself a macbook pro. Really i think it was a good decision. I am very happy with the quality of hardware and some of the cool features that Mac OS X Tiger offers. So today while I was browsing, I came across webdunia.com. It publishes it’s content in 9 different Indian languages including Hindi, my mother tounge. I was using Firefox 2.0.07 and all I could see on the site was images and ????. All the hindi text appeared as question marks. I immediately thought that hindi fonts are not installed. I decided to install the font set to see my favourite curvy characters. I search very hard on the internet, googling this afternoon to get Hindi working on my Mac. But to no avail.

After my evening tea I sat again and decided to give it another try. But this time to my surprise I could read everything without doing anything. I had no clue what was going on. Then I realised I was using Safari, the pre installed browser. After some more search on net I came to know that Indic rendering of Firefox on Mac OS X is not up to the mark yet, but is perfect on Safari.

To sum up:

On Safari with Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger the handling of Indian scripts is amazingly flawless.
On Firefox unfortunately as of today Indian scripts can’t be rendered well enough.

If you wish to type in Hindi:
1) Go to System Preferences
2) Click on International
3) Click on the Input tab and select Devanagari and/or Devanagari-QWERTY
4) Check the Show Input Menu in Menu Bar for easy switching

And this is how to write word Hindi using hindi scripthindi lang

75 Responses to “Hindi font on Mac”

  1. Kumud Ajmani Says:

    I agree – Safari and Apple Mail do a great job of rendering Hindi/Devanagari pages with no problem. I have researched this also in great detail to get things working with Firefox – but no luck so far.

  2. misterkiwi Says:

    Hi! I need help! I have to do subtitles for ad industrial video in Hindi, and the MacPro that I use at work doesn’t have some characters. Can you suggest me how to do?
    Thank you very much and sorry for my english!

    PS can you write me and e-mail? Thanks!

  3. Anubhav Goyal Says:

    misterkiwi, on the installlation disk no.2 that comes with Mac there are all the fonts available. Please try to install the hindi fonts from there.

  4. Atul Gupta Says:

    Anubhav,

    Thanks for your entry. It was most illuminating. Have you figured out how to actually type contracted letters? For example my last name is gupta and to be written correctly in hindi, the pa and ga are joined. How do you accomplish this? I have a very rudimentary knowledge of written hindi as I have never lived in India. I am trying to improve this and also want to type some hindu prayers so that I can play with them graphically.

    Thanks!

    Atul

  5. Susan Says:

    Thank you for the help in clicking on International and choosing the Devanagari font. But I don’t see how to have it appear in Word, or in any actual application.

    Also, do you–or does anyone– know any programs that would help me learn to type in Hindi?

    Many thanks,

    Susan

  6. K Ajmani Says:

    @atul – the way to type the joint letters is to use the visarga i.e, to get gupta in hindi, you would type gupfta (the “f” between “p” and ‘t” will give you the desired result गुप्ता). All half/joined letters can be produced this way! All the inline hindi text on my website has been done like this. Please email me if you would like more help.

    @susan – select “devanagari qwerty” as your keyboard, open textedit and type away! (do install Devanagari MT font)
    Kumud

    • Aashaa Says:

      Dear Anubhav,

      Would you know how can I find the “r” vowel in the sanskrit 2003 keyboard, as is needed for the hindi word “praapti? So far, I am only able to locate the “r” vowel on the the character viewer as a combined letter.

      With many thanks,

      Aashaa

      P.S. I need a sanskrit or hindi font for my Macbook Pro OS X. Is the sanskrit 2003 the best font available at present or is there another font that is easier to use?

    • sweety Says:

      Hello,

      How can I type half च in the hindi word bacchey. Thanks for your help!

      • Sean Ellis Says:

        For example, acche ( अच्छे ) would be entered as acfCe. I still find something like hindiqalam dot com a bit easier than Devanagari QWERTY.

  7. Dan Lind Says:

    Am currently studying Hindi at the Landour Language School in Mussoorie, Uttarkhand, India. Am transcribing most of my lesson notes onto my MacBook. This is really quite easy, but have found that TextEdit is the best for the Devanagari/English data entry. Unfortunately I find Word impossible, and Pages flaky especially in tabbing. Want to try out some of the alternate word processing programs…any suggestions out there? Am concerned that I’ll have problems with TextEdit when I come to printouts and more advanced formatting.

  8. Anubhav Goyal Says:

    There are some good word processing softwares available for Mac OSX. I think Dan for you, Mellel will be a good alternative. Check this link
    Some other alternatives are Apple’s iWork, Mariner Write

  9. Sarvesh Says:

    Hi Kumud,

    I selected “Devanagari QWERTY” as my keyboard, and then opened Textedit, selected DevanagariMT as the font, and then started to type, but still wasn’t able to get the Hindi font to appear. The keyboard would still input the same English characters. Is there anything that I still need to do?

    Thanks for all your help!
    Sarvesh

  10. Kumud Ajmani Says:

    @Sarvesh – what version of MacOS X are you using? Please email ajmanik at gmail dot com if you are using 10.4+ and it still does not work for you.

  11. आलोक कुमार Says:

    I actually forgot if one needs to install the fonts from the disk on Tiger, or just the System Preferences setup I mentioned here is enough? Perhaps I did install them after all, but if any of you remembers do let me know.

  12. Reb Says:

    You can also download Padma from the Firefox add-on site. See: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/873 and it works great!

  13. pallavi Chauhan Says:

    hi anubhav
    it seems helpful while visiting ur site.
    i want to get more information on topic “how to read hindi fonts on client’s machine without installing it”
    please guide me thoroughly.

  14. vijay shanker Says:

    Hi Anubhavjee,

    I have recently bought a mac with OSX Leopard (10.5.2). As per you suggestion regarding hindi font and reading/writing , I did something like this (as u have suggested):

    If you wish to type in Hindi:
    1) Go to System Preferences
    2) Click on International
    3) Click on the Input tab and select Devanagari and/or Devanagari-QWERTY
    4) Check the Show Input Menu in Menu Bar for easy ”

    I am still not able to read/write . Could you suggest me what to do next?

    Thanking you in anticipation!

    Regards,
    vs

  15. baptiste besson Says:

    hi everybody,

    i would like to know please if someone wanna help me how to write my name in Hindi:

    baptiste

    If someone know also how to write my name in the different dialects.

    Sincerely

    much appreciated

    baptiste

  16. Raghu Says:

    Anubhav,

    While the Devanagri QWERTY keyboard works for all Mac apps. I am on version 10.5.5. I am not able to use this on Microsoft Office for Mac version 2008. Any ideas on how i can type in Hindi in Microsoft Office for Mac?

    Regards
    Raghu

  17. ravi Says:

    I am having problems with typing certain samyoga characters in devanagari on Mac. For e.g. when I type arjuna, the j disappears. Anyone knows how to fix this or where I can seek help?

    Soon after I type the u in ju, the j disappears:
    अर् जुन
    अर्जुन

    thanks

    • Yash Says:

      Hi, even I was curious how one would type the ra symbol on top like arjun or parvat. Could someone please explain that to me?

      • Kelly McCabe Says:

        पर्वत् , अर्जुन
        After typing in the ‘r’ use the symbol (I forget what you call it) that eliminates the understood vowel ‘a’ after a consonant. It is located between the ‘द’ and the ‘ग’ on the devanagari qwerty. I used it at the end of parvat. पर्वत् Then when you type in the ‘व’
        it will come out correctly.
        Hope that helps.

  18. Mani Says:

    Hi All could i get a help of someone who can show me the script in hindi for Welcome

  19. Kelly McCabe Says:

    I am using Mac OSX 10.4.11 and have been trying to type some Sanskrit prayers with Devanagari (Querty). I am having some success but can someone please tell me how to do the following:
    1) how do I get the aspirated letters like bh, gh, dh
    2) other letters also I can’t find like the other sh, or the other n or the vowel r that would be used to spell Krishna. What is the procedure for those letters?
    3) words beginning with a vowel like Upanishad. Is there a way to get the letter U by itself.
    4)how do I get the visarga as in namah
    5) how do I get the bindi?

    If someone can help me with this I would be really grateful. Thanks!
    Regards,
    Kelly

  20. Kelly McCabe Says:

    I am using Mac OSX 10.4.11 and have been trying to type some Sanskrit prayers with Devanagari (Querty). I am having some success but can someone please tell me how to do the following:
    1) how do I get the aspirated letters like bh, gh, dh
    2) other letters also I can’t find like the other sh, or the other n or the vowel r that would be used to spell Krishna. What is the procedure for those letters?
    3) words beginning with a vowel like Upanishad. Is there a way to get the letter U by itself.
    4)how do I get the visarga as in namah
    5) how do I get the bindi?
    If someone can help me with this I would be really grateful. Thanks!
    Regards,
    Kelly

  21. Madhavi Says:

    I had been wanting to experiment with hindi / devnagiri typing on my new MacBook Pro for quite some time now… and your post was extremely spot on…
    In order to learn the different keyboard keys to type better, you need to check the box for ‘Keyboard Viewer’ which under the Input tab. Then, you can see a menu item called ‘Show Keyboard Viewer’ which then shows you a mini keyboard on the screen – thus helping you to type better and to figure out which keys are for what alphabet… in fact, you can even type out your stuff from that keyboard itself too…

    Thanks for posting this information!

  22. राजगोपाल Says:

    Kelly, not sure if you got your answers. Since I didn’t see them in the posts, here it goes –
    भ (bh) – shift b
    घ (gh) – shift g
    ध (dh) – shift d
    ष (sh) – x
    ण (other N) – shift n
    कृ (r as in krishna) – shift r
    उ (U as in Upanishad) – Alt U (don’t know second U)
    : (visarg) – would colon (shift 😉 do?

    Devanagari-QWERTY works good for most of the letters but haven’t figured out how to type ठ (Th) or ढ (Dh) yet. I don’t see these letters even in the Keyboard viewer. I can type those using just Devanagari layout but QWERTY layout is really easy for somebody like me who is new to Devanagari typing. Would appreciate if any body can help with this.

    Regards,

    Rajgopal

  23. daniella vaclavik Says:

    trying to type devanagari on word for mac. works perfect in text edit, but can’t find a font for word. any advice?
    and
    ठ tha is (shift-alt)t
    ढ dha is (shift-alt)d
    visarga ः (shift)h
    ऋ r (alt)r
    ऋृ longr (alt)r then (shift)r
    r symbol for krsna ृ (shift)r कृ
    उu (alt)u
    ऊ longu (alt-shift)u
    hope that helps…

    • sopan Says:

      Thanks everybody, your posts were quite helpful. Am hoping somebody can tell me how to get the bindu and chandrabindu on the Devanagari QWERTY keyboard [as in “मैं न मानूँगा”]. Have gone through the keyboard viewer without much luck. Thanks in advance.

      • Kelly McCabe Says:

        press the shift key and you will see the chandrabindu on the lower left right next to the क्ष
        मँ न मानूँगा
        hope that helps
        Kelly

  24. Shrey Says:

    So I successfully used the above technique (insert ‘F’ between letters) to get joint letters.

    However, I can’t figure out how to type out फ (the hindi letter for F) unless I paste it directly from the character palette

    Would prefer a solution for Devanagari-QWERTY.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  25. amitosh Says:

    1) Go to System Preferences
    2) Click on International
    3) Click on the Input tab and select Devanagari and/or Devanagari-QWERTY
    4) Check the Show Input Menu in Menu Bar for easy switching

    i have tried doing the same for hindi reading on mac..its still not coming..i dont want to type anything..i just want to read hindi material available on web..how would that be possible?plz help

  26. MAHARAJABOY Says:

    some fonts override eachother when i open a web page. Is there anything to correct with font book or font folder ?

  27. Johnathon Scalia Says:

    Amazing, found your post on Ask.Happy I finally tested it out. Unsure if its my Chrome browser,but sometimes when I visit your site, the fonts are really small? Anyway, love your webpage and will return.Bye

  28. Athira T Nair Says:

    Mr. Anubhav ,

    I am a student of class V . I need to make my project & request you to send a font for my use of typing .

    thank you ,
    Athira

  29. payal Says:

    do we have some tip in mac something like in google transliterate where in we get to choose word . and how to see that whole varnmala from where we can choose alphabet like google transliterate.
    this is very informative.
    thanks

  30. anju Says:

    how do i read a an rtf document in hindi on mac?

  31. Surinder Says:

    I am using Mac Snow L latest OSX version. I have various Hindi and Punjabi fonts in the Font Book. When I use pages I can use all those fonts. But when I use MS Word I don’t get those fonts. Even when I cut and paste from Pages MS Word shows garbage.

    How can I use all the fonts in my Font Book in Ms Word?

    Microsoft has terrible after sales service. There is no way to get such simple tips.

  32. दिनेश Says:

    I am using Mac Snow L latest OSX version. अाप सबका धनयावाद । मै अब हिंदी में लिख सकता हूं ।
    How can you type half न. Like in धनयावाद. I could not fix that.

  33. Keith Says:

    Hi, Anubhav – Thanks for your blog! I was killing myself trying to do the conjunct consonants until I found the entries here re using the “f” key – and working in TEXT EDIT.
    I do have this question: Has it been the experience of you or others (as it was mine) that certain keystrokes involving the “f” key do not produce the appropriate result in any of the Adobe Creative Suite products? For example: in InDesign and Illustrator, typing “t-f-r” yileds “t-virama-r”, not the correct “tr” conjunct – as in सुत्र.
    One more BTW – Wikipedia has a ridiculously complete chart of maybe all the possible Nagari letter-form combinations: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Devanagari#Accent_marks
    One can actually cut and paste these into TextEdit if one doesn’t want to figure out the QWERTY in some extreme cases.

  34. aparna Says:

    Very helpful! I’m going to try it now- hope it works

  35. Edith Says:

    Thank you so much!!! I’ve been trying to figure out how to type Hindi script on my Mac. I am attempting to learn Hindi and frequent the ispeakhindi.com site. I know this will really help me! Bless you!

  36. Mohit Says:

    You can also download devanagari hindi fonts from http://www.devanagarifonts.net

  37. Edith Says:

    Dhanyavad Mohit! दहनयवाद Mohit! Is that correct?
    Will explore the new site you sent. It will will me lots of opportunities to practice. Have happy Mac times!

  38. rushal Says:

    anubahv!!i did what you said to do but it still didnt happen!!!everything STILL comes in english…help asap plssss….need it for a project

  39. अरविन्द तिर्की Says:

    तो अब रेमिन्गटन टाइपराइटर के दिन चले गए। मैने दो महीने की मेहनत् से हिन्दी टाइपिंग सीखी, सरकारी नौकरी पकड़ी, अौर अब सब सीखना बेकार गया। अब ये नया keyboard layout सीखना पड़ेगा। क्या कोइ जानता है कि पुरानी हिन्दी रेमिन्गटन layout मैकबुक मे install हो सकती है या नहीं ?

    अौर —->
    कोइ में बड़ी इ कैसे लाएं ?

  40. Rahul Mehta Says:

    How to write half word in devnagari in mac book pro…
    very simple
    follow the steps

    धन्यवाद =
    Type
    shift + d = ध
    n = न
    (now press ” f ” key & type ” y ” = न्य) (to make any alphabet half press ” f ” key )
    va= वा
    d = द

    so i.e धन्यवाद

    USE ” F ” KEY FOR TO MAKE ANY ALPHABET HALF

    to make preveous alphabet half press ” f ” key with next alphabet…

    हिन्दी = (hi = हि, n = न, fd + shift + i = न्दी )

    try it…
    enjoy

  41. thetalkingheart Says:

    मैं Glaani (shame , disgrace ) को लिखना चाहता हूँ पर आधा ग कैसे लिखा जाये? जब कोशिश करो तो “ग्लानी” बन जाता है. कोई सुझाव?

  42. tupperwareanubha Says:

    dhanyawad
    ्धन्यवाद

  43. hindilearner Says:

    i am trying to use f to join the consonants but it doesn’t work at all, i type kft but it keeps on going me an error…i can even see the t when i type to after f. help plea

  44. Sanjay Suda Says:

    I have been able to activate the hindi keyboard and I can type in the hindi characters (but only at random) since I do not have the keyboard layout on my keyboard. Is there a program available that will display the devnagri character layout on screen that I can refer to when typing on the keyboard? The other alternative is to get keyboard stickers but I would like to avoid this if possible since I do not plan to type more than a few lines in hindi at any given time

  45. amit Says:

    हिंदी keyboard works well every where sans Microsoft word and adobe …. do anyone have solution for that

  46. Hindi Fonts Says:

    Do opentype fonts work in mac? i haven’t tried it….

  47. alok Says:

    how do i type hindi font in text edit file.

  48. alok Says:

    how do i activate the hindi keyboard so that i can type hindi text.

  49. Antonietta Says:

    U constructed a number of great tips throughout
    ur article, “Hindi font on Mac Anubhav Goyal”.
    I will end up coming to your web site soon enough. Thank you ,Renee

  50. free Pdf ebook Download Says:

    Mobi – CHM is perhaps the only e-reader which supports the CHM
    file format. The intent was for PDF files to provide a way
    to distribute documents electronically and have them display or print consistently regardless of
    the type of computer system. So, without spending any money (assuming you already had a
    computer), you have your equipment.

  51. Usa Says:

    Hi..i tried all steps below but when i type on word doc for devanagri regular font it switches automatically to devanagri san which i don’t want..i just want to use devangri regular and not devangri san font..please help..

    1) Go to System Preferences
    2) Click on International
    3) Click on the Input tab and select Devanagari and/or Devanagari-QWERTY
    4) Check the Show Input Menu in Menu Bar for easy switching

  52. Songs Of Yore Says:

    Dear Anubhav,
    Your article and comments have been very helpful. It is not practicable to come back to you every time a doubt arises. I have selected Devnagari QWERTY as you have advised. Is there a help manual for Devnagari Macbook Pro which mentions all the phonetic (i.e. transliteration mode) equivalents of Devnagari letters, special letters, matras in Roman keyboards? (Hindi Indic for Windows has such help manual as well as a demonstration keyboard which simply lists the transliterations.)

    Mac also has one, but it is not comprehensive, and it is not a list of equivalents, but a virtual keyboard.

    AK

  53. Naresh Kudal Says:

    Dear Anubhav
    मेैंने अपने मेकबुक एयर २०१३ पर देवनागरी भाषा का उपयोग करना शुरु किया किन्तु देवनागरी भाषा विकल्प चुनने के बाद सभी फोन्टस् में नम्बर (१, २, ३, ४,……) हिन्दी स्टाईल में आते हैं जबकि मैं देवनागरी भाषा के साथ रेगुलर स्टाईल के नम्बर (1, 2, 3, 4……) का प्रयोग करना चाहता हूँ जैसा कि अपने विन्डोज कम्प्यूटर पर करता था। कृपया बतायें कि यह किस प्रकार संभव हो सकता है।

  54. slylenseril Says:

    just not able to write प्रेस on the mac hindi keyboard, it comes out as प् रेस in all places. Any help?

  55. Rahul Says:

    i want to have a tool like “Google hindi input” for MAC
    I have iMac with OS X yosemite 10.10.2
    Can anybody help?

  56. asmitabdas Says:

    Hi! I selected Devnagri QWERTY from system preferences but still unable to type in Hindi. Could anyone help me out here?Thanks

  57. Ritu Agrawal Says:

    I need your help.. Mujhe mangal font Hindi devnagri m question mark lagana nhi aa raha .. Plz help me or bataye m kaise kar sakti hu use..mera test h

  58. Danish akhtar Says:

    Main hindi me हूँ likhana chahta hu mujhe chandrabindu nhi samjh m aa rha h plz help me

    • harsh aggarwal Says:

      Namastey ji…me ek writer hu, me Final Draft software Par hindi me likhna chahta hu, jo ki me nhi likh pa raha to kya koi bata sakta he ye kese possible hoga ?? Plz meri madad kare…

  59. pragya Says:

    Is there a way I can type Devanagari in Microsoft Word on Mac. While Devanagari qwerty works perfectly in text editor, conjuncts, etc do not work in Word. Please help.


Leave a Reply

